Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management

Site: Amethyst Sector - No Physical Location

Service: Emergency Management in Ontario

Add Record Add Record | Suggest Update | Print Version (New Window)
Description & Services
Description (Service)
  • Supports municipalities and ministries in Ontario in implementing their emergency or disaster programs by providing them with advice, assistance, guidelines, training and other tools 
  • Works under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act (EMCPA); along with Ontario Regulation 380/04, which establishes the minimum standards for emergency management programs required by munincipalities and provincial ministries and supports the requirement in the Act for mandatory emergency management programs
Amethyst Sector consists of the following municipalities: 
Kenora District 
  • City of Dryden 
  • City of Kenora 
  • Municipality of Red lake 
  • Municipality of Sioux Lookout 
  • Township of Ear Falls 
  • Township of Ignace 
  • Township of Machin 
  • Township of Pickle Lake 
  • Township of Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls 
Rainy River District 
  • Town of Fort Frances 
  • Town of Rainy River 
  • Town of Hearst 
  • Township of Alberton 
  • Township of Atikokan 
  • Township of Chapple 
  • Township of Dawson 
  • Township of Emo 
  • Township of La Vallee 
Thunder Bay District 
  • City of Thunder Bay 
  • Municipality of Greenstone 
  • Municipality of Neebing 
  • Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge 
  • Town of Marathon 
  • Township of Conmee 
  • Township of Dorion 
  • Township of Gillies 
  • Township of Manitouwadge 
  • Township of Nipigon 
  • Township of O'Connor 
  • Township of Red Rock 
  • Township of Schreiber 
  • Municipality of Shuniah 
  • Township of Terrace Bay
Hours Mon-Fri 8:30 am-5 pm
Areas Served Kenora District ; Rainy River District ; Thunder Bay District
Eligibility No restrictions
Application Call for information
Languages English
Contact Information
Toll Free Phone 1-800-565-1842
After Hours Phone 1-800-565-1842
Fax 807-564-4555 
Toll-free: 1-800-387-9265
Social Media Facebook Facebook
Primary Contact Sharon Bak, Field Officer; Phone: 647-329-1100; Email:
Located In Community Thunder Bay
Address Thunder Bay, ON
Physical Access Not Applicable
Other Details
Legal Status (30) Provincial Government
Funding Provincial - Ministry of the Solicitor General