Nishnawbe Aski Nation

Site: Thunder Bay

Service: Services for Members of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation

Add Record Add Record | Suggest Update | Print Version (New Window)
Description & Services
Public Comments
  • Nishnawbe-Aski Nation (NAN) was originally founded as Grand Council of Treaty 9 in Feb 1973; in Mar 1984 it had been reorganized and became known as NAN  
  • NAN area covers 210,000 sq miles (two-thirds of Ont) with a population of approx 45,000 members and represents 49 First Nation communities (almost two-thirds live on First Nation reserves) 
  • Communities are grouped by belonging to one of seven Tribal Councils: Windigo, Wabun, Shibogama, Mushkegowuk, Matawa, Keewaytinook Okimakanak and Independent First Nations Alliance; 6 communities are independent and don't belong to a Tribal Council 
  • Deputy Grand Chiefs (DGC) are: Derek Fox, ph: 807-625-4924 or; Anna Betty Achneepineskum, ph: 807-625-4903 or; Jason Smallboy, ph: 705-360-5502 or
Description (Agency) Serves as a political organization representing 49 First Nation communities across the Treaty 9 and Treaty 5 areas of Northern Ontario
Agency Services
Description (Service) Serves as a political organization representing 49 First Nation communities across the Treaty 9 & Treaty 5 areas of Northern Ontario 
  • Assists all member communities in their quest for inherent jurisdiction, sovereignty, nation-building and traditional governance 
  • Advocates to improve quality of life for all members in areas of education, lands and resources, health, governance, and justice
Represents the communities in the following departments: 
  • Administration 
  • Centennial Commemoration 
  • Communications and Media 
  • Crisis and Suicide Prevention 
  • Education 
  • Employment Opportunities 
  • Executive Council 
  • Fiscal Relations 
  • Governance Secretariat 
  • Harvesting Unit 
  • Health 
  • Land Rights and Treaty 
  • Lands and Resources 
  • Residential School Project 
  • Social Services 
  • Treaty Discussion Forum 
  • Treaty Education Process 
  • Women's Council 
  • Youth
Hours Mon-Fri 9 am-5 pm
Areas Served Aroland First Nation ; Attawapiskat First Nation ; Bearskin Lake First Nation ; Beaverhouse First Nation ; Brunswick House First Nation ; Cat Lake First Nation ; Chapleau Cree First Nation ; Chapleau Ojibway First Nation ; Constance Lake First Nation ; Deer Lake First Nation ; Eabametoong First Nation ; Flying Post First Nation ; Fort Albany First Nation ; Fort Severn First Nation ; Ginoogaming First Nation ; Hornepayne First Nation ; Kasabonika Lake First Nation ; Kashechewan First Nation ; Keewaywin First Nation ; Kingfisher Lake First Nation ; Koocheching First Nation ; Lac Seul First Nation ; Long Lake 58 First Nation ; MacDowell Lake First Nation ; Marten Falls First Nation ; Matachewan First Nation ; Mattagami First Nation ; Mishkeegogamang First Nation ; Missanabie Cree First Nation ; MoCreebec Council of the Cree Nation ; Moose Cree First Nation ; Muskrat Dam First Nation ; Neskantaga First Nation ; Nibinamik First Nation ; North Caribou First Nation ; North Spirit Lake First Nation ; Pikangikum First Nation ; Poplar Hill First Nation ; Sachigo Lake First Nation ; Sandy Lake First Nation ; Slate Falls First Nation ; Taykwa Tagamou First Nation ; Wahgoshig First Nation ; Wapekeka First Nation ; Wawakapewin First Nation ; Webequie First Nation ; Weenusk First Nation ; Whitewater Lake First Nation ; Wunnumin Lake First Nation
Boundaries E to the Quebec border, N to Hudson & James Bay, and W to the Manitoba border
Eligibility Members of the 49 First Nation communities belonging to Nishnawbe-Aski Nation territory
Application Varies by program/service, contact for more information
Languages English ; Interpretive Services - Cree, Oji-Cree, Ojibway and Algonquin, available upon request
Fees None
Additional Services at this Site
Contact Information
Office Phone 807-623-8228
Toll Free Phone 1-800-465-9952
Fax 807-623-7730
Primary Executive Alvin Fiddler, Grand Chief
Alternate Executive Wendy Caruk, Senior Administrative Coordinator to the Grand Chief; Phone: 807-625-4933; Email:
Site Location Victoriaville Centre
Located In Community Thunder Bay
Address Victoriaville Centre
710 Victoria Ave E, 3rd Fl
Thunder Bay, ON P7C 5P7
View Google Map
Intersection Victoria Ave E and Archibald St
Mailing Address 100 Back St, Unit 200 
Thunder Bay, ON P7J 1L2
Physical Access Fully Accessible
Other Details
Legal Status (21) Other Regional Government ; (50) Non Profit
Funding Federal
Elections Executive Council consisting of Grand Chief and 3 Deputy Grand Chiefs elected every 3 years by the collective Chiefs of NAN communities; next election Aug 2021